Know Your Cephalopods



It’s Cephalopod Week here at Camp E&E and all over! We’ll be learning more about our mollusk friends, don’t worry we’ll get back to our Echinoderm friends soon.


  • Cephalopods are marine mollusks. This means they are related snails and nudibranchs (distantly).
  • Cephalopods include octopus, cuttlefish, nautilus and squid.
  • All cephalopods have a head with eyes, a mantle that holds their organs and beak like mouth. Cephalopods are invertebrates- meaning they have no bones.
  • Cephalopod limbs are attached to their heads.
  • Octopus have 8 arms – yep they are called arms. Their arms are covered in suckers.
  • Cuttlefish and squid have 8 arms and 2 tentacles.
  • Nautilus have many tentacles and have no suckers. They unlike other cephalopods, have an outer shell.
  • Cephalopods only live a year or two, except nautilus who live around 15 years.
  • Cephalopods can change the color and texture of their skin to camouflage with their environment.
  • Cephalopods have been around for about 500 million years.
Categories: adventure, Animals, Children, conservation, education, Environment, nature, oceans, science, Today's Post, wildlife | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Ellie and Edmond wants to hear what ya have to say!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

%d bloggers like this: